Thommy Ford Reads

A blog by the staff of the Thomas Ford Memorial Library

The Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar–Fic Millar

Kalix is a young teenage werewolf struggling with anorexia, laudanum addiction, depression, and anger issues in addition to being cast out of her family, the MacRinnalch clan of Scottish werewolves, for assaulting her father. Throw in an expansive cast of crazy characters, such as a werewolf -enchantress fashion designer, a fire-elemental warrior queen obsessed with haute couture , punk rock werewolf twins, patient college students in London, and the members of the feuding MacRinnalch clan (just to name a few), for a wild romp through this imaginative world. As Kalix struggles to survive, her family struggles to elect their new leader in the midst of many humorous subplots in this epically unique urban fantasy.

This quirky book kept me laughing out loud, and craving more at the end! It will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett , or anyone who enjoys an off- the-wall adventure with intricate, characters. It is the first in a series.

–Reviewed by Heidi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2011 by in Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction.
%d bloggers like this: