Thommy Ford Reads

A blog by the staff of the Thomas Ford Memorial Library

“Dabchick” by Haruki Murakami

45-01

I was taking a step forward to knock for a third time when the door opened soundlessly, naturally, as if a breeze had sprung up to swing it on its hinges… The click of a switch came first, and then a man appeared before me.

Blind-Willow-Sleeping-Woman

“Dabchick” is from Murakami’s story collection Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Murakami is great at tapping into familiar feelings in wildly unfamiliar ways. No, I’ve never been greeted for my first day of work by a freshly showered man in a red bath robe, nor have I had to riddle my way into my boss’s office with a Bilboish trick, but somehow I still relate to the baffled narrator of “Dabchick” who is just desperate to start his new job no matter how odd it’s turning out.

In the end, the story takes a sudden turn that will leave you with some questions, not to mention lots of clever answers that likely mean nothing to anyone but yourself. That’s just about my definition of a great ending.

Review by Matthew

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2014 by in Book Review, Fiction, Saturday Shorts, Short Stories.
